UN-HIGHLIGHTS: Natural Looking Highlights

You know I am always a fan of the less is more approach when it comes to hair color. I am sure you appreciate it and many of my clients do.

The great thing about hair color today is that trends in hair seem to be more in the direction of natural looking, longer wear, less maintenance hair color. I love that this is happening, bold highlights or un natural looking color is a thing of the past and as a colorist let me tell you – its not easy to mimic what nature might naturally have given you when you were a little girl.

Luckily with change, comes a time to learn and evolve. For me and most hair artist we get very excited to learn new things and techniques that will help s stay up to date with the trends to help our clients achieve a the most current look.

Here is a little tecnique I like to call “UN-highlights”. This is when you blend highlights at the root for a more natural blended look.

Unlike the severe highlights we tend to see a lot walking around town, these are finer and less abrasive looking. The way I achieve this is by highlighting and then re-rooting with a permanent toner. Doing so I can almost match the natural color of the root, yet its a little lighter, then with the perfect allotted processing time blend the highlights at the root – while still maintaining the lightness.

Highlights like these are great for clients who want to have a better grow out, no like of demarcation, and overall a more NATURAL look to their hair and not to mention a lot easier on the hair.

Take a look:

natural-sandy-blonde-highlights-